“How can I develop authentic reflective learners?” take #4

Sharing their learning journey with each other.

Sharing their learning journey with each other.

Excited to share…

In Friday’s post, How can I develop authentic reflective learners? take # 3 I described my plans for trying out a new structure, River of Learning, for reflecting about their learning journey for that week.

Very worthwhile…

I could not believe how engaged my student were. They took their preparation seriously, they shared with their partners and didn’t go off topic, they willingly summarised their journey as best they could and even asked for more time to write more. They set pertinent goals supported by purposeful plans of action for achieving them.

I observed eagerly, took photos and helped only when called upon, which was only twice. They took complete ownership of the process and persevered in moments of uncertainty. I am so proud of their attitude and enthusiasm. And I am so thrilled that they all thought the process was very worthwhile.

What did they share and write about? What goals did they set? What plans of action did they create?

Some were very basic, others more detailed. But the learner and the learning was evident in each reflection. They all show promise for becoming powerful reflective learners and they all demonstrated a desire to take ownership of their learning. Have a look to see them in action.

I am so looking forward to watching this reflective journey unfold.

One thought on ““How can I develop authentic reflective learners?” take #4

  1. Pingback: “How can I develop authentic reflective learners?” take #5 | Notice… Reflect… Act

Leave a Reply

